Winners of the "Asian Nobel Prize" in astronomy, medicine and mathematics

In 2002, Chinese philanthropist Run Run Shaw established an annual international award to honor scientists whose discoveries have had a positive impact on humanity. The award was named after him and, according to tradition, it is awarded the outstanding people of the three scientific fields: astronomy, medicine and mathematics. Winners, in addition to the medal, given monetary compensation in the amount of 1, 2 million US dollars.

Winners of the

As usual, in 2019 for the nomination of candidates were invited reputable scientists who are experts of each of the three awardees spheres. Thus, the chairman of the section of astronomy is a German astrophysicist Reinhard Genzel, section Medicine directs the American cytologist Reendi Shekman and should British mathematician Timothy Gowers headed the mathematical section.

Prize Winner 2019 Shao astronomy

This year's award in the field was a professor at Caltech Edward Stone. It is known that for many years coordinated the program "Voyager", devices that are still in service. The award he got a well-deserved - after all, it is thanks to this program, humanity has reached the edge of the solar system, and is now studying interstellar space.

Winners of the

Prize Winner in Medicine 2019 Shao

In the field of biology and medicine in this year he won a professor at Cornell University Maria Yasin. According to the jury, she deserved the award for his work on DNA repair processes of the study. Through her work, humanity has tools for editing of the mammalian genome.

Winners of the

Prize Winner 2019 Shao math

Finally, the winner of math this year became a professor at the University of Paris Michel Talagrand. Jurors noted its work in the field of inequalities and concentration of suprema of stochastic processes. Previously, he was honored with other awards - for example, in 1997 he was awarded the Farm for young mathematicians (when he was not yet 45 years old).

Winners of the

This is the sixteenth in a row the award - ceremony will be held on September 25 in Hong Kong. It is noteworthy that before the prize was only one million dollars, but in 2016 the amount was increased to 1, 2 million.

Maybe you would like to award another outstanding scientist? Why? Write your answers in the comments or in our Telegram-chat.